The Importance of Self-care

By Kali Nelson

African american woman staring into a camera sitting in a bathtub
A woman in a bathtub staring at the camera

In college, everyone faces tough times: We fail tests, classes, have personal struggles, or just have a bad day in general. Everyone needs something to help them cope. I personally like to crawl into bed and watch Netflix. I have a friend that watches YouTube videos, another that does her make-up. What you do can be very personalized to who you are and what helps you to relieve stress. Self-care is an important thing for everyone to do because it can be beneficial to your health and improve your relationships with your friends, family, and significant others.

There is a topic I would like to share with everyone. It’s called self-compassion. Self-compassion is when you realize that you will not be able to do everything you think can. Self-compassion is about treating yourself like you would treat someone else who is struggling. This is an important topic for everyone to remember because it’s a hard one to get. I struggle with this one too, occasionally, I get over ambitious and think that I can do and succeed at everything, then I do and I fail everything. I’m trying to say that we need to think of ourselves like we would think of our very best friends if they said they were going to do what every we were planning.

I have some tips that I have found on the internet. A common one is to drink water. Even just one glass can help your body. Another common one is to shower or take a bath. I find that the shower is nice. (Not for the planet, though). If it’s in the summer take a cool shower if it’s cold take a warm one. It could be as easy as reading a book you like or making a cup of tea. Take a walk, or sit in the sun. Here are some of my favorites.

Self-care tips

a woman splashes water on her face.
a woman washing her face
  • Drink water
  • Take a shower/bath/wash your face
  • Do a face mask
  • Watch your favorite show
  • Have a cup of tea or coffee
  • Take a nap
  • Make your bed
  • Clean your room
  • Take a walk
  • Visit an animal shelter
  • Go for a drive if that calms you down
  • Listen to your favorite music
  • Do your laundry
  • Make yourself something you like to eat
  • Hang out with your friends and do something you all like
  • Paint your nails
  • Write in a journal
  • Talk to someone about what is bothering you
  • Literally, anything that makes you feel good.

 

Self-care is all about doing something that is for you that doesn’t make you feel guilty. I find that after a long day of class and running around being a college student that washing my face helps a lot too. Or doing a coconut oil treatment on my hair and then taking a shower really helps me to relax. But this may not work for everyone. You could try a few of them out and see what relieves your stress the best.

Taking care of yourself is important because you can’t help people if you don’t take care of yourself first. This is especially important for women because if we listen to what society tells us, we are caregivers. Many women I know went into fields like nursing or medicine, or in-home care. If these women do not take care of themselves, they may not be able to care for the people in their charge.  These women have all gone into a very demanding field, medicine. It’s a lot of work and many of these girls (and boys) tend to push themselves too far. This can lead to burnout. Burnout is when you push yourself too much and you give up. Self-care also relieves stress which is detrimental to your health.  I know that I have been in the time where I say pressure is good for me and I push myself to do something else, but too much is not good. Self-care can also help you become better acquainted with your goals. I know that when I take the time to think about what I am doing in my life right now and where I want to be it helps me to visualize the steps I should take to get there.

This is important for everyone to do this because life is stressful and everyone deserves a break. We’re about halfway through a semester and that means that finals are coming up. But also with all that has been going on in politics in the US and the world, it is good for everyone to take a minute and breath. Taking care of your body is another, very important part of being an adult and sometimes we forget that. So remember to take a little while to take care of yourself.

One thought on “The Importance of Self-care

Leave a Reply

