About Me

By Mary James

IMG_2664.JPG
Horseshoe Bend

My name is Mary James and I am:

A senior at the University of Idaho

Graduating Spring 2017 With a major in Public Relations and a minor in Women’s and Gender Studies. Upon graduation I want to travel all I can before pursuing graduate school. As of right now I have not fully made up my mind where I want to continue my higher education. I am leaning towards Dartmouth located in New Hampshire.
If not Dartmouth, I know I want to attend graduate school somewhere on the east coast. As a first-generation college student in my family, I hope to earn my doctoral degree one day. My ultimate goal in life is to become a positive advocate for women and Native Americans.

A Bill Gates Millennium Scholar.

This is a full ride up to your Doctorates anywhere in the U.S. Without this scholarship I wouldn’t have been able to afford higher education. This scholarship is awarded to 1,500 students per year, I was one of the 24,000 who applied in 2012.

A member of the Yakama Tribe.

Located in Washington. I am Native American and Hispanic. I grew up on the Nez Perce Reservation located in Lapwai, Idaho.

A member of Delta Delta Delta.

A member of the Native American Student Association.

NASA is an active cultural organization on campus working to aid, enhance and enrich the educational experience of Native American students.

Adopted

The woman I now call mom adopted me at the age of three. Her name is Ingrid and she’s amazing! She is originally from Germany. Growing up the holidays, birthdays, and family gatherings were unique. My family is very diverse culturally. I grew up learning German traditions while also being connected to my Native cultural traditions.

A traveler

I’ve been to Europe multiple times. I’ve also traveled to Hawaii multiple times and even had the opportunity to study at the University of Hilo for a semester which is located on the Big Island. The previous spring break my best friend and I traveled all over Arizona, Nevada, and Utah. We flew to Vegas and from there borrowed her sister’s car to explore Horse Shoe Bend, Antelope Canyon, Bryce National Park, Zion National Park, etc. We were hiking about ten miles a day if not more. I love being outdoors and exploring nature. This summer I spent four weeks and a few days working in Alaska with Red Salmon. After Alaska I made a spontaneous trip to California. I spent two weeks on the beach soaking up the sun.

A feminist

I believe in ending sexism, oppression, and exploitation. I want women to have the same power men have been given. I am passionate and I am fighting for equal rights in order to educate others about women’s issues.

Leave a Reply

