An Open Letter to a Florida Anti-abortion Activist

By Stephanie Sampson

at the Fortune Most Powerful Women Summit in Laguna Niguel, CA.
At the Fortune Most Powerful Women Summit in Laguna Niguel, CA.

A Florida State Subcommittee heard a testimony from an anti-abortion activist last week that made many Americans cringe. The activist insisted that “white culture” is being destroyed because white women are “outside the home, not having babies.”  The activist was expressing his support for HB 865 which would make abortion completely illegal in Florida except when pregnancy threatens a woman’s life or if two physicians certify in writing that the pregnancy interferes with the treatment of an already life threatening disease

I am here today to address this activist’s testimony. Here is how I feel about your so-called testimony:

Dear anti-abortion activist,

Thank you so much for your testimony at the Florida State Subcommittee. As an independently-thinking college student with the misfortune of only being surrounded by inspiring and hardworking women and forward-thinking, supportive men, I need your help answering some questions.

Why would women want to better themselves by going to college or having a job? Can you answer this mysterious question for me? It only makes them better individuals in society by giving a sense of identity and self respect, but now I see that is a bad example for the children of this country. They should be ashamed.

May I just say that I think that people are out to get you. I mean I have seen statistics that make you look incompetent by showing that women of color are twice as likely to get an abortion as white women. They say that women of all types have abortions. 58% of women who have abortions are in their 20s; 61% have one or more children when they have an abortion; 85% are unmarried; 69% are economically disadvantaged; and 73% report a religious affiliation.

Where do they get numbers like these? They cannot be true. It is the white women that are ruining this picture perfect way of life by going out into the workforce and making something of themselves. I mean a woman is incapable of working a full time job and raising her kids with a supportive partner. That is just unreasonable.

I know that the dear Lord encourages us to care for and support all of his children, but how am I supposed to support those caring, hardworking women when they’re too busy becoming journalists, politicians and world renown surgeons? I watch the women in my family cook, clean, and work full time. How do I let them know they’re wrong when they teach children like myself that anyone is capable of anything as long as they are willing to do the work? I have always thought that women who stay at home are very dedicated and hardworking, but now I know after hearing your testimony that they are obviously the only hardworking women in society.

It is all becoming clear. Your words are inspiring and now I have completely changed what I’m going to do with my life. I think that now I will drop out of my senior year of college, get pregnant, and stay at home. I will tell my baby girl that if she can be a good wife than she will be set for life! I think I will start each day washing the dishes, and then end it judging the successful women in my life. I mean, how silly are they thinking that they could actually accomplish anything? If all women stayed at home, the world would be a better place.

I won’t feel my dreams have been taken away. I won’t wonder if I was capable of more. I won’t feel regret for dropping out, but I will regret putting all of that time and effort into my studies. What a waste of time.

I must apologize for spending my time writing you this letter instead of taking the time to take care of my husband and have babies.

Of course, there wouldn’t be significant women like the extraordinary entrepreneurs and celebrity role models, idealistic CEOS and billionaire activists and pioneer philanthropists who are renovating the world. Or even the stay at home women that have made a difference. J.K. Rowling was a stay at home mom when she wrote the Harry Potter books. After the death of her mother and a divorce, Rowling spent her time writing in a café and then read the stories to her daughter. Martha Stewart, stayed at her family farm in Conneticut while she was raising her daughter before she started her catering business. Without these remarkable women, there would be more women making babies and pies. How delightful! I totally get what you were saying now: I can’t bring home the bacon, put I can throw it in the pan!

Sincerely,

Stephanie Sampson

2 thoughts on “An Open Letter to a Florida Anti-abortion Activist

  1. Thank you for your letter. I am male, heterosexual, liberal, pro-choice. I bet there’s a box or pigeon-hole for me. I just wish lawmakers quit using taxpayers’ money and official time on an issue that they believe they can control by just making new, silly laws about what they have no control over. It’s not even good politics. With Cuba just 90 minutes away, Mexico a hip and a hop over the only thing the law would be assuring is the death of women in poverty.

    Like

Leave a Reply

