Women’s Hobbies by Jimmy Iovine

As a woman, my list of hobbies include talking and complaining about boys. Especially when I’m  heartbroken. Thankfully, Apple Music head Jimmy Iovine understands this list of hobbies, and is helping mescreen-shot-2015-11-19-at-4-21-57-pm to better my life.

“I just thought of a problem, you know: girls are sitting around, you know, talking about boys. Or complaining about boys, you know, when they’re heartbroken or whatever. And they need music for that, right? So it’s hard to find the right music, you know. Not everybody has the right lists, or knows a DJ or something.”

Imagine being Mary J. Blige in this moment. Blige was seated next to Iovine while he spewed this all over ‘This Morning’ on CBS. The playlists on Apple Music are created by algorithm, but are finalized with a ‘human touch.’ I wonder how many women are working at Apple Music, creating playlists, even though they’d rather be sitting around, you know, talking about boys.

My natural response was outrage, anger, and an immediate refusal to use Apple Music. Blogger Betsy Whitney had a  better response to Iovine’s comments. Her list of other products for women by Jimmy Iovine is a hilarious take on the comments.

Apple Watch

“I always knew that women find it very difficult at times – some women – to tell time. And this helps makes it easier with the Apple Watch, designed by real people.”

Apple Pay

“I just thought of a problem: Girls are sitting around talking about boys. Or complaining about boys, when they have their heart broken or whatever. And they need money for that, right? It’s hard to find your wallet. Not everybody knows a banker.”

MacBook Air

“I always knew that women find it very difficult at times – some women – to fit their computer in their purse. And this helps makes it easier with the MacBook Air.”

Apple TV

“I just thought of a problem: Girls are sitting around talking about boys. Or complaining about boys, when they have their heart broken or whatever. And they need TV for that, right? It’s hard to find the right show. Not everybody knows a network executive.”

Apple Car

“I always knew that women find it very difficult at times – some women – to drive. And this would help makes it easier with the Apple Car, driven by real people.”

Iovine has since apologized for his comments, not intending to offend women and insinuate women cannot make playlists.

“We created Apple Music to make finding the right music easier for everyone — men and women, young and old. Our new ad focuses on women, which is why I answered the way I did, but of course the same applies equally for men. I could have chosen my words better, and I apologize.”

As part of the ad campaign targeting women, there are three Apple Music commercials set to air. They all feature Mary J. Blidge, Kerry Washington, and Taraji P. Henson. The ladies work so well together, it’s hard to not want to dance in Blige’s living room with them! However, after Iovine’s remarks about women hit the internet, the ads feel insulting.

During the living room ad, Washington exclaims, “It’s like you have a boyfriend making you a mixtape in your laptop.”
I doubt that Iovine also wrote the script for the commercial, but it sure feels that way. On top of his remarks that women need men to make them playlists, the point is again brought home in the commercial. I don’t think I have ever had a boy make me a playlist, because I could make a better one all by myself. Take that Jimmy. I didn’t even cry about any of those boys either.

In the kitchen advertisement, the women talk about “what makes them feel sexy.” How stereotypical is that? Last week, I had a few friends over that are girls. We talked about politics, school and our career goals. We didn’t talk about boys, sexiness or being heartbroken. Maybe sexiness is a normal conversation among these three women, they may be alone in that. 

This is just one of three ads that will air in the next six to eight weeks. The idea behind Apple Music is that music is easier to find. Personally, I don’t struggle with finding music, so perhaps that’s why I find these comments to be insulting.
But maybe Iovine should stop mansplaining things.

Leave a Reply

