Strong Women in My Life

marque's family
By Marque Wilson, HOIST summer intern

I am proud to be a woman because you can do all kind of things. You can experience your body making another human being inside you. I’d rather be a woman, because women get to do all kinds of things. Women have more freedom to experiment with hairstyles, clothing, and my favorite, make-up. I love make-up, you can do all kinds of things with make-up!

I have three sisters and I am the youngest. They’ve taught me a lot. My sisters have supported me through the bad times as well as the good. They’ve taught me so many things about life and how to be happy. We all dance at pow wows. I dance Traditional.

My oldest sister’s name is Lolita. She really helps me with my school work, and she keeps pushing me until I can say, “I did it!” She loves to hear those words because she knows I did well in my work or got a good grade. I don’t really see her anymore because she lives in Warm Springs with her boyfriend. She helps me out when my mom isn’t around or has to do something. She is like a second mother to me. She dances Jingle at pow wows, and travels all around the word for pow wows because her boyfriend is a singer and a drummer. She’s 29 years old.

The second oldest sister is Wetulu, but other people call her Lulu. Lulu is also 29 years old . She helps me bead and do all kinds of things. She helped me dance Traditional when I was little. Lulu dances Fancy. She sells all kinds of Native handicrafts, she beads earrings and makes outfits, and she just had a baby! Her name is Jaxcee Fierce Henry, and she is 9 months old now. Lulu is the first one of my sisters to have a baby. Jaxcee is so cute and beautiful, she laughs a lot.

The third sister is Regine, she is 19, but her birthday is coming up and she will be 20 years old. She also dances Fancy, but she has been really sick, and can’t lift anything heavier than 20 pounds. She’s very thin, but she has recently gained 16 pounds. Regine is my favorite sister, because she is really fun. I have a lot of fun with her and she is the funniest of all my sisters. She makes me laugh and I spend a lot of time with her. We’ve gotten closer these past 2 years. I’m just praying she will get better from her illness. The doctor has taken 14 tubes of blood from her, but she’s being really strong about it.

I’m so thankful for all my sisters, and what they’ve taught me about how to live, and the fact that they push me to go further in life.

The last strong woman in my life who I want to acknowledge is my mother. She’s the best mother in the world. She’s taught me a lot about Native American tribes. She’s so strong, nothing could tear her down. My mother’s name is Jena. She has God on her side, and when she’s down, she talks to God. We have our ups and downs, and sometimes we say things to each other, but we both know we don’t mean it. She loves and supports me through the good things in life, and the bad. I will always love her, no matter what. Jena is 48 years old and still looking good! I am happy she gave life to me.

marque and her mom

5 thoughts on “Strong Women in My Life

Leave a Reply

