New writer!

blog

by Alicia Williams

My name is Alicia Williams and I am a first-year student at the University of Idaho. I am from Fruitland, Idaho, but I don’t really consider it my home. I have never lived in a place long enough to develop a personal connection. We moved frequently when I was growing up, which prompted me to take initiative and be more outgoing. Moving a lot as a child helped me become a more well-rounded person, but also helped further my development as a strong and independent woman.

I have been extremely competitive for as long as I can remember. From a young age, I was athletic and tried to be the best in everything that I participated in. I played many sports at school, but realized by my senior year that I never actually really liked them. The benefits of sports are great; learning to work together and pushing and encouraging one another to improve. But I really didn’t care for the favoritism, and not feeling like I truly belonged. Fitting in with the “athlete scene” was not something that I was good at. For most of my life, I tried to fit in with that group, and soon realized I wasn’t happy with who I was. At the end of the day, I always found myself drawn to a different crowd. It wasn’t until the end of my senior year in high school that I was able to find the group where I felt I truly belonged. Finally, I felt like I could be myself. We would go to one another’s homes and geek out over Xboxes, anime shows, and whatever else we felt like getting into that day. To find a place where I felt I belonged was the best thing I needed to build my confidence and help me find the person I wanted to be. Being around people that I enjoy and accept me for who I am has changed me in the best possible way.

Writing has always been a passion of mine. I remember writing silly short stories and reading them to my mom. I was always the most excited person in the class about writing an essay. The best thing about writing is that there isn’t just one right answer; even a short answer for a test can be interpreted in your own way. Two people could both be right, yet word their answers completely differently. I am a fan of fiction writing and personal response. I love being able to write exactly what I want to say and not have to worry about it being “wrong.” When I learned about writing for the Women’s Center, I couldn’t resist. Not only do I love to write, but I am also passionate about freedom for all, and providing women with opportunities to discover the strength and confidence they need to do what makes them happy. I am very excited to share my own thoughts with readers and to be exposed to other perspectives, in hopes of broadening my own.

Leave a Reply

