I Am More…

by Jessy Forsmo-Shadid

Mama always said our bodies are to be cherished
Beauty is a skewed concept we’ve accepted but
The society we live in says
I am ugly, I am unworthy
It’s senseless to think that
I am beautiful and I am treasured
I can tell you right now that
Negativity is monstrous.
But I am able to realize that I am different
I am scared to have myself stare relentlessly
In the mirror bare and naked
My reflection, my core is screaming
Waiting for something positive to come to me

Waiting for something positive to come to me
My reflection, my core is screaming
In the mirror bare and naked
I am scared to have myself stare relentlessly
But I am able to realize that I am different
Negativity is monstrous
I can tell you right now that
I am beautiful and I am treasured
It’s senseless to think that
I am ugly, I am unworthy
The society we live in says
Beauty is a skewed concept we’ve accepted but
Mama always said that bodies are to be cherished

Leave a Reply

