Sex Talk With Nick: Safe Sex

Nick Dimico

Welcome to Sex Talk with Nick, your weekly dose of pleasure. I’m here to give you an educational insight into the world of sex. This week we are going to discuss safe sex and the steps you can take to keep yourself healthy.

Safe sex is considered to be sexual activity practiced by people who have taken precautions to protect themselves against sexually transmitted diseases (STDs) or sexually transmitted infections (STIs), such as HIV/AIDS.

“Practicing safe sex is something that I take great pride in,” said Brett, straight, 23, sexually active. “I always use a condom and I make sure to get myself tested every 3-6 months.”

Many people think that having safer sex is that you wear a condom and get yourself tested every six months; although that is great you should also be extremely aware of your partner’s status.

“For the longest time my boyfriend and I were having safe sex,” said Emily, straight, 24, sexually active. “I was getting myself tested every six months and we always wore a condom, but I never made him get tested. One day I gave him oral, and I ended up catching an STD from him. From that point forward, we got checked together.”

Making sure that you and your partner are using safe sex will pay off both for you and for those you love.

“In my eyes safe sex doesn’t only affect me and my partner,” said Jennifer, straight, 27, sexually active. “It also affects my family and the education I use with my kids. As my kids get older, I want to make sure they are using safe sex. If I’m the one teaching them to practice safe sex it would be ignorant of me not to practice it myself.”

The only way to make sure that you are 100 percent preventing the spread of STDs is to abstain from sex, which means not to have sex of any kind. Now, I understand that is not the most ideal situation, so therefore you should practice safer sex methods. Below are some steps you can take to keep your self healthy and happy in your sex life.

Get Tested:

Be sure you know you and your partner’s sex status before ever having sex with them. You should always ask your partner.

Wear Condoms:

Use condoms and make sure you are using them correctly, and every time you have sex. Using a male condom for all types of sex can greatly lower your risk of obtaining any STDs during sex. If you or your partner is allergic to latex, you can use polyurethane condoms. Condoms are easy to find, and some places give them out for free, such as the student health center on the University of Idaho campus, the Women’s Center, or at a local clinic.

Talk With Your Partner:

Making sure you and your partner are on the same page when it comes to having sex is extremely important. Talk to your partner about the steps you can take in order to have a healthy sex life.

Practice Monogamy:

Being in a sexual relationship with only one partner who is also faithful to you can help protect you from getting STDs.

Limit Your Number of Sexual Partners:

Your risk of getting STDs or HIV goes up with the number of partners you have, and condoms should be used for any sexual activity outside of a long-term, faithful relationship.

Use Protection For All Kinds of Sexual Contact:

Remember that you don’t only get STDs and HIV from penile-vaginal sex. Use a condom during oral sex and during anal sex. Dental dams also can be used to help lower your risk as well as your partner’s risk of getting any diseases during oral-vaginal or oral-anal sex.

Getting tested can sometimes be extremely scary, but knowing that you are safe and healthy will make you feel so much better.

Recently I went and got tested for the first time since I have been sexually active. I was terrified to the point that I was making myself sick. The doctor drew my blood and said that he would call me the next day, but he never did. This made me even more afraid as I started to have all these thoughts go through my head about why the doctor did not call me.

Could it be bad news? Could it be good news? I had no idea of what to do. I ended up calling one of the urgent cares that were still open and connected to the  doctor I had gone to for my test.

The lady at the front desk said “Yes, we do have your results, but I can’t give them to you as it has to be one of our nurses. Right now all of our nurses are assisting other patients, so we will call you back as soon as they are available.” I hung up the phone and waited.

Five minutes later my phone rings and it’s the nurse.

Nurse: “Hi Nick. Do you have a minute to discuss your test results?”

Me: (Scared) “Yes!”

Nurse: “Well I have some bad news.”

(Instantly my heart rate sky rocketed.)

Me: OK?

Nurse: “Well two of your tests did not run today. I am not sure why that is, but I will have the doctor call you back tomorrow to let you know. As for your other two tests results you are negative.”

Me: (About to cry) “Oh my gosh, thank you so much!”

Nurse: “You’re welcome! Have a good night!”

The next day the doctor called me and let me know that my other two tests were also negative. Sure, my first testing experience wasn’t the best, but now I know that I am safe and healthy.

So, as you can see sex can be so many things. We are all human beings, we are equal (or should be), and we all have ways of finding and acting on certain pleasures. There is no right and no wrong to sex, just a diversity pool of pleasures. The more open-minded we are to sex the more we are going to learn about it throughout the rest of our lives, but remember safety first.

Happy Pleasuring! ❤

One thought on “Sex Talk With Nick: Safe Sex

Leave a Reply

